Turns out I’ve moved to England!

So, for those of you who don’t know – I (And soon WE) have moved to the UK! Yup!

I know, I know – I loved Austria, I was working on my writing and Camino Wear, everything was going swimmingly…and it was. However, Boots and I had always planned on moving to the UK at some point and slowly, and very selectively I had been looking for work.

And as timing would have it, right in the middle of our Camino Wear campaign I was invited to an interview for an amazing conservation charity. Turned out to be one of the greatest interviews I’ve ever attended and a few days later I was offered a position as the General Manager of their fundraising subsidiary.

The last month flew by as the Camino Wear campaign wrapped up wonderfully, I packed like a mad person and made the move to the South Coast of England the week before last. Boots and the cat will be joining me in a few months.

And I’ve got to say – I am so happy. Being constantly distracted by the beauty that is Austria, I forgot how much I loved the UK. I love the accents, the little pubs, the quaintness of the smaller villages and the vibrancy of the big cities. Having been born here, although we left when I was 6, it’s the closest I feel to being ‘home’, anywhere in the world. And being by the sea…le sigh…I love the ocean and the mountains in equal measure and although I’ve had to give up the mountains, I have the sea at my doorstep (figuratively from home and literally from work), plus there are palm trees! I love me a good palm tree.

And I’m happy to be back at work. It’s been over a year now since I had a ‘proper’ job and although I had reservations about going back into the workforce I have found a place that suits me to a tee. Not only am I working to raise money for protecting our beautiful, natural world, I’m managing a group of people who are engaged, dedicated, welcoming, and hilarious. I think we’re going to have a grand time.

It’s a little tough at the moment – missing Boots and the cat something fierce, and soon packaging and posting all the perks from the Camino Wear campaign, so it’s extra busy-ness along with learning the ropes of a new job, but I’m at peace and excited about the next chapter of my life.

As for this blog – I’m not quite sure what to do with it now. The whole point of it originally was to update friends and family, to talk about travel, adventure and risk taking, and now…I’m just not sure.

I have a few posts planned for the coming weeks about the Indiegogo experience, and lessons learned living in Austria, but post that…

…what will most likely happen is that I’ll be taking a hiatus as I decided if I should continue it, and if so what it should become.

Thank you all for reading, it’s been a blast to write (although infrequently) and we shall see what happens with this little site in the future.

Mucho love.

One thought on “Turns out I’ve moved to England!

  1. Dear Evi,
    I am so happy to hear your news! Have a good luck and good future in good old England! 🙂
    Kaisa

Leave a Reply

